Fire Marshal Unit

The Trenton Fire Marshals unit is comprised of two Battalion Chiefs and four Captains. Presently six fire marshals cover four shifts. The primary function of this unit is to determine origin and cause as related to fire within the City of Trenton.

All Marshals have been certified by the New Jersey Department of Criminal Justice Arson Investigators Training.


The unit has maintained a close working relationship with the Trenton Police arson unit and Mercer County Prosecutors office. All serious and fatal fires are investigated by a team consisting of a Trenton Fire Marshal, Trenton Police Arson Detective, Trenton Police Identification Unit, and Mercer County Prosecutors Arson Detective.